Verstappen starts 13th and wins the Belgian Grand Prix;  Hamilton retires

Verstappen starts 13th and wins the Belgian Grand Prix; Hamilton retires

What was quiet during qualifying for the Belgian Grand Prix, Sunday (28) was frenetic. Collisions, insults and overtaking marked the tournament which ended with Max Verstappen winning – mostly – at home.

The Red Bull driver drove to the sound of his fans who crossed the border to mark the party in the stands. Perhaps it was this – along with changes to Verstappen’s F1 in recent days – that fueled the Dutch driver’s 12 passes and left 13th for pole position. All this in less than 20 laps.

Max Verstappen was born in Belgium but raised in the Netherlands. In this circuit, he was penalized for making more changes than he could to his own Red Bull in exchange for his return from vacation. Taking first place in yesterday’s practice, he was the first to start the race out of all who were punished: He would start the race in 15th, but because AlphaTauri riders Pierre Gasly and Yuki Tsunoda started from the penalty area, Max started the race in 13th.

a minute of chaos

In the first few laps, Nicholas Latifi (Williams) slipped and left the track a bit. His F-1 tires ran on gravel, and when he was back on the asphalt, he narrowly missed an Esteban Ocon (Alpine) hit. Who couldn’t escape a pleasant hesitation was Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo), who had nothing to do with the story, but left the track and left the race.

It seemed like an isolated incident, but it opened the doors to chaos and, in the aftermath, Lewis Hamilton traveled as he tried to overtake Fernando Alonso and ended up touching his car. A Mercedes Lewis sprang up, and smoke began to rise from it. “Stop, stop, stop,” the team warned over the radio. obey.

Louis was seen walking sadly and lonely around the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps. However, Alonso did not forgive his opponent’s fatal mistake: “What an idiot! It was a good start, but this guy only knows how to drive when he starts first,” cried the Spaniard in the Alps.

In an interview with Mariana Baker, Hamilton said: “I thought I left space, but I didn’t. I paid for it. I apologize to the team.” On what Alonso has said about him, Hamilton prefers not to comment: “He talks with a hot head,” says the Briton.

Photo: Playback / F1

Perez suffers but gives up

On Saturday (27), Sergio Perez, teammate Max Verstappen, said he dreams of being able to do his own race. Ego made the pitch when it wasn’t easy for Verstappen to get past him on lap 11. The Dutchman complained to the team: “We’re wasting time.”

Perez came second, while Verstappen was third. The goal was to snatch first place from Carlos Sainz (Ferrari), and the rule states that Perez must give his place to his best teammate. On lap 12, he gave up. Verstappen beats Perez and, not long after, moves Sainz to second.

Ferrari is not safe

The conversation between Ferrari and Charles Leclerc was more like a chat between buddies than a race radio. At all times the team contacted the driver and advised him on the next steps: tires and potholes.

Decisions that the team usually makes and are only briefed to the drivers about did not happen that way with Leclerc. Frequent contacts showed Ferrari was insecure about the Monaco Grand Prix.

i’m angry

Although Max Verstappen took the lead in the race, it was Esteban Ocon (Alpine) who had the best pass of the day – at the helm of Sebastian Vettel on lap 36. The driver had already been warned about the quality of his car – he said the problem would only be in Starting position, but the Alps were in perfect condition. truly.

With today’s win, Max Verstappen took another slack at the top of the drivers’ championship, coming in at 284 points. Teammate Sergio Perez finished second, overtaking Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc. The Mexican now has 191 points, compared to 183 for Monaco. Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz is fourth with 171 points, one point behind Mercedes’ George Russell. Lewis Hamilton, who did not score today, is sixth with 146 points.

Check the Belgian Grand Prix standings:

First Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
2nd Sergio Perez (Red Bull)
Third: Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)
IV George Russell (Mercedes)
V Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
VI Fernando Alonso (Alpine)
7th Esteban Ocon (Alpine)
Eighth Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin)
9 Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri)
X Alexander Albon (Williams)
11 Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)
12 Lando Norris (McLaren).
13th Guanyu Zhou (Alpha Romeo)
XIV Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri)
15 Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren).
16 Kevin Magnussen (Haas).
17 Mick Schumacher (Haas)
18 Nicholas Latifi (Williams)
19 Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo) – Unfinished
20 Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) – Unfinished

*Collaborated with Joao Victor Miranda

#Verstappen #starts #13th #wins #Belgian #Grand #Prix #Hamilton #retires

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.