Furious Smith crowned world darts champion

Epic nine-dart final
Furious Smith crowned world darts champion

By Kevin Schulte, London

The 2023 world darts champion is called Michael Smith. The “Bully Boy” from England wins a fantastic final against the favorite Michael van Gerwen from the Netherlands 7:4. The highlight of the final is the best round ever played in darts.

This moment is for eternity: in the second set of the final of the World Darts Championship, Michael van Gerwen and Michael Smith shoot in rows in the narrow eight millimeter triple fields. 180 van Gerwen. 180 Smith. 177 van Gerwen. 180 Smith. These alone are numbers for the history books. After six darts each, the two finalists are on course for the nine darts, the perfect game, rarely seen as a Blue Mauritius.

The PDC World Darts Champions since 1994

1994: Denis Priestley (England)
1995 to 2002: Phil Taylor (England)
2003: John Part (Canada)
2004 to 2006: Phil Taylor (England)
2007: Raymond van Barneveld (Netherlands)
2008: John Part (Canada)
2009 and 2010: Phil Taylor (England)
2011 and 2012: Adrian Lewis (England)
2013: Phil Taylor (England)
2014 : Michael van Gerwen (Netherlands)
2015 and 2016: Gary Anderson (Scotland)
2017: Michael van Gerwen (Netherlands)
2018: Rob Cross (England)
2019: Michael van Gerwen (Netherlands)
2020: Peter Wright (Scotland)
2021: Gerwyn Price (Wales)
2022: Peter Wright (Scotland)
2023: Michael Smith (England)

The 3,100 fans at the naturally sold-out Alexandra Palace are going wild at the moment. And a few seconds later, the venerable “Ally Pally” feels like it is about to be demolished, so much is the noise in the room when Michael van Gerwen misses the nine dart of the double 12 of a millimeter only. Smith punches his opponent out of appreciation, only to do better. Triple 20. Triple 19. Double 12. Nine darts. Right now, Alexandra Palace is a place of incredible ecstasy. As strong as if several jet planes took off at the same time.

This is the greatest moment in the history of darts. 17 out of 18 darts land in triples or doubles. The best leg ever that can never be topped. Logically, two nine-darts in one round are not possible. Of course, if the presenter, in this case Michael van Gerwen, creates the nine, London fans would have experienced the first leg live with only perfect darts. It was better that way for the drama.

The best run of all time was not decisive for the outcome of the match. Michael Smith can’t break away from favorite Michael van Gerwen until later in the game. After the 2:3 from the Englishman’s point of view, Smith begins to dominate his opponent. Four sets in a row go to the runners-up of 2019 (in the final against van Gerwen) and 2022. “Mighty Mike” wins another set to make it 4: 6, but Smith can no longer be stopped from his coronation and wins at the end 7:4.

“It sounds amazing. I want to get back into this sport, but Michael is still here,” Michael Smith said in an initial reaction. Michael van Gerwen bore the defeat with composure and showed greatness when he paid tribute to his winner on stage.

van Gerwen and Smith drunk

Michael van Gerwen had a bit of a chance to win the first set after missing seven double darts in the second leg, but still won the set. For Smith, it was a missed opportunity to win the first round for his side. After the incredible second set featuring a nine-dart and almost a nine-dart, the two best players by far in the last few months continued to play in their frantic mode. In the third set with the best ending for Smith, who took the lead for the first time after the third set.

But this should be the last tour for a long time. In the fourth set of the longest and most important darts match of the year, Smith seems to be taking a little time. Michael van Gerwen returns home relaxed with 3:0. The fifth round is then played again, in the end it is “MvG” who wins the set in the decision round. The tension is palpable at this stage of the game. Singing is becoming increasingly rare in the West Hall of Alexandra Palace, which has hosted the world’s biggest darts tournament for the past 15 years. Almost nothing remains of the festive atmosphere of the first days of the tournament. The fans are not concerned with themselves, but with the game.

For Michael van Gerwen and Michael Smith, this is the highest award possible. It’s true that “Mighty Mike” and “Bully Boy” sometimes fail to maintain their incredibly high standard – they now average 110 points per recording. In terms of drama and playful class, this World Cup final has long since caught up with the legendary final between Raymond van Barneveld and Phil Taylor.

Smith clinched the sixth set 3-1, but was already 0-2 behind in the next round. Michael van Gerwen is regaining the lead, seemingly relaxed. But then the drama begins. The 2014, 2017 and 2019 world champion misses chances, Smith can still save the penalty in the decider. And then, unlike “MvG”, he is there for the doubles.

TV expert loses his voice

The epic endgame finally has it all. Perfect eight darts, perfect nine darts, 180 shots in one round, dramatic twists. Michael Smith and Michael van Gerwen played so well that night that they stole the voice of former World Cup semi-finalist and current ‘Sky Sports’ commentator Wayne Mardle. After the seventh set, double world champion John Part is hastily summoned. “John, we need you. Wayne has lost his voice,” calls a Sky employee in the press room.

Not his voice, but Michael van Gerwen eventually loses the connection. Smith wins the eighth set 3-1, increasing his double quota to 50%. And can fill. The ninth round also went 3-0 to the Englishman, who had also beaten Germans Martin Schindler and Gabriel Clemens during the tournament.

The 32-year-old is just one set away from his maiden world title, £500,000 prize money (around €565,000) and top spot in the world rankings. After an extra round (van Gerwen shortened to 4:6), it happened a few minutes later: the dart of match number two is double eight. Michael Smith is world champion, wins the best final “Ally Pally” has ever seen.

#Furious #Smith #crowned #world #darts #champion

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Shopping Cart